A New Year: Hopes & Dreams

The New Year, 2016, came rolling across the globe like an unbreakable wave, that was greeted equally by thunderous applause, immense firework displays and almost total revelry. Much like the year before it, humanity gratefully welcomed its illustrious new guardian into its bosom like a ship, long out at sea, returning to port, handkerchiefs waving gleefully in the air.

A New Year can signal many different things for many different people, some rejoice at the demise of 2015, cursing it under their breath, whilst others wished it had never come to an end at all. Some people, unfortunately, didn’t see last year come to pass, through all manner of tragedies, some big and some small. It’s important to take a moment out of our hectic lives and spare them a thought, do them some honour. Now stepping away from that rather morbid turn, let us look to the future, that bright, glistening bundle of warmth and joy staring, unblinkingly, straight back at you.

What are your hopes and dreams, your wishes and requirements in 2016? I know this runs in a very similar vain, you might say, to making resolutions, something I said I wouldn’t be doing. In my eyes these are different things, resolutions are just that, resolute, you carve them into stone, place them on your hearth and command yourself to complete them (with varying levels of success). No, here the discussion is focused on what you hope this year will bring you, your desires and perhaps even your fears. So without any further ado, lets jump right in:

 

Work:

Something practically inescapable, this perpetual spectre looms over us all. What do you wish to achieve this year? I know that my career path is far from set. For most of my life I’ve been meandering up a creek without a paddle, entirely unsure of what I want to be doing. Currently I’m working as an ESL teacher, something I hope to move on from this year. Ideally I would like to write in some capacity and earn a living from it. How? I’m not yet sure. Maybe it’s that big promotion you seek, or maybe you’d just be happy with a raise. It’s important to set yourself some goals in this encompassing part of your life. Work towards better job satisfaction.

 

Health:

If work is inescapable, your health certainly is as well. But which is more important, should you focus more on one then the other? This question is a more circumstantial one. If you are comfortable or at the apex of your career, it may be time to pay a little more attention to your health. Unless of course you are a master of both, in that case, congratulations. For me, my health needs a little tweaking. A better diet (this differs greatly from needing to go on a diet) and more regular exercise, as opposed to stints consisting of varying periods of time. Lets say more consistent exercise. Healthy and sustainable living, it’s not about securing those rock hard abs, its more about ensuring I live a healthier life with a stronger body. One that will last me, with as few visits to a mechanic as possible.

 

Love & Dating:

Please do your best to avoid reading too deeply into the order of the two words above. Will this be the year you find ‘the one’, that person that steals your very breathe from you? Perhaps, but then again perhaps not. I don’t know what I hope for in this terribly personal aspect. But it seems it cannot be avoided when dealing in such large brush strokes. All I say is this: in this department I will remain open to possibility, as I hope you will too. If you’re in the position in which you already have that person, rekindle that fire, let them know just how special they are to you.

 

Aside from that, it may just be time to take up a new hobby or two, read a little more, or a lot more. Go see more of the world, take a holiday and have an adventure of your own. But most of all, enjoy yourself out there!

2 thoughts on “A New Year: Hopes & Dreams”

  1. Hi Daniel, I like your resolutions. I think it’s a unique idea to not have far-fetched aims that you may not achieve. Instead to focus on a better quality of life, is the smarter way. 🙂 Shall be taking inspiration from you to make my resolutions. All the best for 2016. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

