1000 Words a Day

Recently I’ve been reading about how to improve as a writer, how to develop the craft and interestingly the difference between creativity and craft.

A Little Undertaking

It’s clear, like anything in life, to get good at something you just need to do it. Bearing that in mind, and taking the lead from a few articles from the great and wise expanse that is the internet, I am undertaking the challenge of writing at least 1000 words a day.

To say this undertaking is a little frightful, or daunting is some what of an understatement, however I feel its something that need to be done if my ability to express myself through the written word is to improve in any measurable or tangible way.

I have yet to decide whether I’ll publish everything I write each day, understandably not everything you write is going to be gold every time, and part of this challenge is about forcing yourself to accept that very fact. You for the sake of good form it may just be that I’ll have to subject you poor people to a whole host of god knows what. But it’ll be worth it in the end right?

But that’s not all, aside from the obvious commitment, there are a few extra things I need to address. Firstly (and perhaps foremost) I need to cast aside the idea that I produce my best work in one great mental blast onto a page, without giving the small matter of editing a thought. Editing is pretty vital to producing something people want to read, as opposed to something altogether more mundane. As well as this there is the whole picking out your mistakes part, pretty important too in the grand scheme of things.

This entire challenge flies in the face of ‘writers block’, I have no doubt there will be days when I will literally just have to write whatever comes tumbling out of my mind just to meet my self-imposed quota. It almost makes writers block impossible, it almost renders it obsolete or irrelevant.

So there you have it, we’ll just have to see how it goes.

[Image(s) from Princeton Writers]

One thought on “1000 Words a Day”

Leave a Reply

